CTC 2019 Scholarship Award Announcement

  • Post Category:News
CTC 2019 Scholarship Award Announcement

The National Center for State Courts is pleased to announce a call for applications for the James E. McMillan Award (McMillan Award) for Innovation in Court Technology. The winner, selected by a committee of court technology experts, will receive a full scholarship to attend CTC 2019 in New Orleans, LA, September 10-12, 2019. This full scholarship includes a waiver of conference registration, four nights accommodation at a conference hotel, and round-trip travel expenses. The approximate value of this scholarship is $2,000.

About the Award

The McMillan Award was established in 2013 and named in honor of James E. McMillan, a long-time employee of NCSC and an innovator in the field of court technology. The scholarship shall be awarded to a court professional who, based on the judgment of the selection committee, has developed an innovative idea, program, product or process related to court technology. Only court professionals employed on a regular full or part-time basis by a state, federal or international court will be considered.


To be considered, applicants should prepare a three to five-page, double-spaced paper that outlines an innovative idea, product or process related to court technology that advances the efficient administration of justice. Papers can reflect past accomplishments or can be forward-looking. Applicants should include a biographical sketch of no more than 150 words. 

Submission Process and Deadline

Papers should be submitted no later than close of business on Monday, June 17th, via e-mail to conferences@ncsc.org. PDF is the preferred submission format.

Selection and Notification

All submissions will be reviewed by a committee of three court technology experts. The committee shall make a final selection and the awardee shall be notified by Wednesday, June 26t.